The Practice of Yoking

My father was a preacher who yoked from time to time at small-town churches, and this story really captured something for me. Being very familiar with the subject helps me understand the motivation behind the organization and emotional intent of the piece. Lately, as I listen to radio, I try to understand piece-by-piece why every element – voice-over, soundbytes and nat. sound – is used at the time it is. I obviously need a lot more practice in radio editing to make something with the power and impact of this KBIA story, but it’s an art form I want to learn and learn well.

Leave a Reply

