On writing my first video piece

I tried to go conversational. As much as possible, at least, but much more so than I would in a print piece, except maybe in writing for a blog.

I listen to a lot of radio. When I wrote my script for audio and video, I asked myself if I could hear Ira Glass’s voice reading this in my head, and if I couldn’t, I rewrote it. I’m not saying I just want to completely ape Ira Glass, but since I’ve never done this before I might as well pick a good model until I hopefully find my own voice.

I also tried to make sure the piece was conversational in another way – that my narration was sort of having a conversation with my interview subjects and even with the nat. sound, almost like a couple who’ll finish each other’s sentences. I think I might have even finished a few of their sentences for them.

Leave a Reply

