Church Architecture Geekout

As one of America’s surprisingly few (midwestern church architecture) enthusiasts, I was happy to see this as I clicked through. Beautiful architecture, yes, but what makes midwestern churches so brilliant is their use of space. Many years ago I veered dangerously close to being an architecture major, because I have a tendency to geek out about three-dimensional design, use of space, and the “installation” effect. I just love places! And I find midwestern churches to use space so brilliantly sometimes (my all-time favorite, in case you’re wondering, is Portageville United Methodist.)

Now, some of this might have something to do with the fact that my dad was a preacher whose specialty was raising funds for building projects for small churches in the Midwest. Yes, it is true that I spent the first 2/3 of my life within tossing distance of a church either under construction, about to be under construction or recently constructed.

Leave a Reply

